Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Like most young girls, I assume, I was fascinated with tarot cards and attempted to learn to read them. Though I eventually gave up I still was always drawn to the illustrations on different sets of cards. I had a couple sets, my favorite was the Rider-Waite tarot deck I got as a gift from a friend. I ended up getting the image of The Hermit on my right thigh. It’s on the side, starting right above my knee going up to about the middle of the thigh. There was just something about the image that resonated with me. Maybe it was the idea of being a hermit or the simplicity of the design, but I figured it would make a nice looking tattoo.

Rider-Waite Tarot: The Hermit

Rider-Waite Tarot: The Hermit

When I started seeing the boy toy Thomas, assuming I was still interesting in reading the cards gave me the book, The Mythic Tarot. It relates the meaning of the cards and symbolism in them to Greek Myths. I only skimmed through it and read the bit about the Hermit card. According to the book it was supposed to be an image of Cronos, the youngest of the titans or earth gods created by Uranus and Gaea, heaven and earth. Uranus locked away the titans in the underworld, because they were imperfect and made of flesh. Cronos, with his mothers help, attacked his father. He castrated him and threw his genitals into the sea. Afterwards liberating his brothers and sisters becoming the ruler of earth. A god of time he oversaw, the passing of seasons, birth, growth and death. But when it came to himself he could not accept the fate of the life cycles. He swallowed all his children to prevent the prophesy of his own son over throwing him from coming true. Until Zeus, protected by his mother, survived to overthrow him. From this story the card gains it’s meaning as lesson of time and the limitation of mortal life. Nothing remains unchanged. The solitude and aloneness represented in the card is a necessity for acquiring the wisdom of patience and acceptance of change with the passing of time, the life cycle and the eventual death of all things.

Knowing that now I guess it’s a good representation of myself. I’ve spent plenty of time alone and I very easily adapt to change. I definitely have no problem moving on through relationships with other people. Unfortunately, Thomas wasn’t so great with that change thing. He eventually started to bore me and I tried to stop seeing him. Well not try I did, it just took a while. He was a persistent little bugger and kept calling and showing up at places I hung out, even after I told him I didn’t want to see him anymore. I guess he needed some time alone to learn how to accept change.

