Tags

, , , ,

So the other day I started reading that totally famous self help book, 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. I usually don’t read self help, I think a lot of it is just bullshit for insecure people. But I found this copy randomly on the street one day and thought I’d at least skim through it just to see what the fuss was all about. It’s pretty dull reading but I actually made it well into Habit 2. Doesn’t seem far but it there are like two chapters before it even starts getting to the point.

I’m still not sure what the actual habit is yet, the author drones on about negative behaviors before actually getting to the point, or maybe I just missed it. I guess he’s talking about being a value driven person, using personal values as the center of how to make decisions and behave. But before he actually gets to the point he describes the different centers people can have. Like people that are spouse centered, friend/enemy centered, money/fame centered, work centered and so on. I was about ready to give up bothering to finish reading the rest. I figured I had suffered enough already. None of it related to me in any way so what was the point. Then I got to the pleasure centered person. That’s the type of person that makes decisions based on what they think will be the most gratifying to them at the moment. Ah finally I found something that sounds even remotely applicable to me. Though I don’t really see it as a problem. Why the hell not live for the moment, if not you might miss out on some of the best times of your life. Also you never know how long you actually have, so why base decisions on a future that may never happen. But I may just read a little further, you never know I may actually learn something new about myself.

