Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

One of the things that has been annoying me lately is the excessive social media posts promoting positive thinking. It’s literally the only thing I see on my Facebook newsfeed some days. I’ve never really been into the positive thinking mentality. I can see it’s usefulness for some people but to me it just gets annoying. Do people really need constant reminders to be happy? Some people call me a pessimist but I don’t think I am, I just take things as they are; good or bad. There’s a cliche where people say I’m not a pessimist, I’m a realist, but I think that’s dumb too. I just think like me, whatever that may be that day.

The one saying that’s always annoyed me the most is “every cloud has a silver lining”, or something like that. In reality it’s just a coping mechanism. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, I guess, but it just seems like a load of bullshit. There is no connection between the bad things that happen and the good. Just ask some of the people that have lived through horrific life events, I doubt when somebody dies of starvation they are thinking, hey I bet some good will come from my death. Sometimes bad shit just happens. While I believe there are some people that can actually find good in the bad things that happen, it’s not like they are actually connected.

I think really it’s just a coping mechanism for those that are just to weak to deal with the reality of the world that we live in. Sometimes, hopefully, it happens to bad people or through the fault of the person it happens to. But life and the world, especially ours at the moment, is not fair and bad shit happens to everybody. Now telling yourself that some good will come out it is really just a way to deflect whatever bad feelings you have about it. To me it’s a cop out, I think you should just face your problems whatever they may be and then move on; looking for good in bad things is a waste of time.

